#ReadThemAllThon TBR – Pokemon-inspired reading challenge!!

So I’m joining a Pokemon-themed read-a-thon set up by Aentee at Read at Midnight and referred to me by Katsyxo. I’ve got a bunch of books that I need to get through, I love Pokemon, and I don’t have a job right now so this is kinda perfect. It started today and runs until September 4th. The sign-up page and rules are here!

You pick a Pokemon and start at CP 10 for ones that evolve and CP 50 for those that don’t. There is a book topic/genre for each gym of the Kanto region to read and you get points for pages read and a bunch of other stuff to level up and evolve your Pokemon. I’ve chosen Ghastly cuz I love the ghost types a lot and Gengar is my favorite Pokemon.

Ghastly (1)

I’ve got a lot of random books that I’ve picked up from various places that I keep not reading so I’m gonna change that. Here’s my list of what I’m going to attempt over the next three weeks!

readthemallthon-badge01-boulder

My Boulder Badge is to a book that I’ve had for a long time but I’ve never read: Castaways of the Flying Dutchman by Brian Jacques. I used to collect the Redwall series so I’m hoping to enjoy it. Its a bit different from the other books on this list and one of the shortest at 356 pages.

+35 CP!!

 

readthemallthon-badge02-cascader

I don’t really own any books that might summon tears so my girlfriend is letting me borrow her copy of All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. All I know is that it follows a blind French girl and a German boy during in World War II. Its 530 pages and I’m nervous.

+53 CP!!

readthemallthon-badge03-thunder

As you progress further down this list, you’ll find that I’m probably overestimating my ability to actually complete books but hey. Why not? My Thunder Badge belongs to the massive 1Q84, a Haruki Murakami novel totaling 1157 pages. It’s technically three books but I’ve got the one volume paperback. So, bottoms up.

+115 CP!!

readthemallthon-badge04-rainbow

This will be my second Murakami book on my list. I bought The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle at the same time I got 1Q84 and they’ve both been looming on my bookshelf. This book is 605 pages long but I did get 50 pages into it last week so I’ll be subtracting that from the total for 555 pages.

+55 CP!!
readthemallthon-badge05-soul

For the Soul Badge, I’m going to read the most epic romance of all: The Princess Bride by William Goldman. Or is it S. Morgenstern? I love the movie to death but I’ve heard that the book is a tad bit different with scenes of what happens to the gallant party after they ride off into the sunset. I have the fancy 30th anniversary edition that sails in at 450 pages.

+45 CP!!

readthemallthon-badge06-marsh

I’m gonna be super hopeful with the Marsh Badge and attempt Jonathon Strange & Mr. Norrell. I’ve had this book for a few years and the size of the spine keeps me at bay but no more! I will defeat the daunting 782 page debut novel by Susanna Clarke once and for all.

+78 CP!!

readthemallthon-badge07-flame

I want to do something a little different at Cinnabar Island. Since I love history and question the motives of the United States military often, Washington Rules by Andrew J. Bacevich will be a fun choice. My girlfriend loved it in college and I just recently got the 304 page hardcover at a nearby used booksale.

+30 CP!!

readthemallthon-badge08-earth

The last badge will be another borrowed book since I don’t have any unread post-apocalyptic books nor do I have any money for a new one. I’ll finish up with Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff since 1) it seems really interesting and 2) its 599 pages and I apparently needed another big book (He says as he watches the download time for No Man’s Sky on his PS4).

+59 CP!!

My potential Gengar after completing all books, book completion bonuses (20 CP each), and evolution bonuses (50 CP each):

CP - 730

(Look at how cute he is!)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

